JetCracker

Life-time learner's blog

Ctrl+Space doesn’t work in NetBeans [Ubuntu 12.04] [Solved]

I reinstalled Ubuntu on my laptop recently. Now I am using Ubuntu 12.04 LTS with Gnome 3 environment. Everything worked fine except one problem: the hot key Ctrl+Space (auto code completion) stopped working in Netbeans and other IDE. Of course, there was an alternative key combination Ctrl+’\’, but it is absolutely inconvenient! I’d prefer to kill myself looking for the solution on the Internet rather than to give in and use Ctrl+’\’. I’ve surfed the net for a while and found a solution to my problem!

The key combination didn’t work because some other program used it. To fix this I used gconf-editor.

  1. Open gconf-editor.
  2. Choose desktop -> ibus -> general -> hotkey.
  3. Open trigger parameter.
  4. Remove Ctrl+Space key combination from the list and press OK.

Now we can use Ctrl+Space without any problems. Let me know if you have any problems or/and better ideas. Good luck!
UPD: I returned to Ubuntu 11.10, cuz’ 12.04 turned out to be a total rubbish. I’m just wondering if Ubuntu 12.10 is any better…
15 responses to “Ctrl+Space doesn’t work in NetBeans [Ubuntu 12.04] [Solved]

  1. 1inuxoidnuxoid June 5, 2012 at 13:27

    Thank you for your hint, you helped me a lot to save my nerves!

  2. Pingback: Spring 2012: Overall stats « JetCracker

  3. Nadeem Jabbar Qureshi July 25, 2012 at 16:21

    Still doesn’t work. Using Gnome 3 on Ubuntu 12.04. Trying to set ctrl-space as hotkey for guake, but that binds space only.

    • jetcracker August 28, 2012 at 00:16

      Please, let me know, if you find a solution.

  4. kneo November 27, 2012 at 00:25

    great! this was bothering me a long time. It also occurs on earlier versions of gnome 3 … thanks for the solution

    • jetcracker November 27, 2012 at 01:31

      You are welcome. 🙂

  5. Daniel Rozenberg December 4, 2012 at 16:49

    Thanks! you saved me… 🙂

  6. John May 19, 2013 at 16:55

    Awesome. This Article Help Me !!!!

  7. jpdrummer May 27, 2013 at 02:20

    Thanks JetCracker!! It works quite simple with any configuration editor 🙂

  8. Dimuthu May 31, 2013 at 16:18

    You just saved me from suiciding:D

  9. Jimmy Berny (@jbgandrade) May 19, 2014 at 20:34

    Very nice! You are saving a lot of people.

    • jetcracker May 20, 2014 at 14:12

      Thank you!
      Do you know what is wrong with ubuntu these days? It just never works properly on my quite old Samsung laptop!
      Maybe it’s my laptop problem, but I cannot use latest versions of ubuntu… 😦

  10. Maxime Bret May 20, 2014 at 17:44

    For those who do not find iBus with gconfig just check everything on your system which allow you to set or unset the system keybord input shortcuts. I didn’t use gconfig so. Thanks a lot 🙂

  11. Atom September 4, 2014 at 18:15

    In Xubuntu:
    1. Setting Manager
    2. iBus
    3. First tab GENERAL. There is a field “Next input method: space”. Change this shortcut to another or clear (as i did).

    Netbeans code completion will now works 🙂 Checked on Xubuntu 14.04

    // I am using polish version, so I am not sure for the english translation of the settings I write above 😉 But you will find without trouble.

  12. David B. October 4, 2014 at 13:09

    After 1 month of torture, thanks for this answer ! On Xubuntu, I get to the dconf editor and then removed the shortcut Ctrl-Space. Life looks really better now !

Leave a Reply

