JetCracker

Life-time learner's blog

Expressing Future Activities

Howdy, dear readers.

At first, check out the video from engVid.com. In this lesson, Rebecca explains how the future tense is used in conversation.

Original: Using the Future Tense in Conversation – English Grammar

How to express future

There are four common ways to talk about future activities or plans.

  1. Future (Simple) Tense (I will do …)
  2. to be going to
  3. Present Continuous Tense (I am doing …)
  4. Present Simple Tense (I do …)

Future Tense we use

  • when we decide to do something at the time of speaking;
  • when we want to express our opinion about the future.

Consider the following examples with future tense.

  1.  Oh, I’ve left the door open. I‘ll go and shut it.
  2. ‘Did you phone Lucy?’ ‘Oh no, I forgot! I‘ll phone her now.’
  3. ‘Do you think Kate will pass the exam?’ ‘Yes. She‘ll pass easily.’

The expression to be going to means that the action is planned but not arranged. So, the phrase I am going to take a vocation, actually, means I decided to take a vocation (before time of speaking) but have not arranged it, yet.

For better comprehension have a look at the following examples.

  1. I’m going to the theatre.
  2. ‘I hear Sara has won some money. What is she going to do with it?’ ‘She is going to buy a new car.’
  3. ‘Garry called when you were out.’ ‘Yes, I know. I‘m going to phone him later.’

Future activities and plans can be also expressed using Present Continuous (especially when activities involve two or more people). When we say I’m meeting my friend tomorrow it means that we have already decided to meet tomorrow and arranged it.

  1. He is playing tennis on Monday afternoon.
  2. I‘m not working tomorrow. So, we can go out somewhere.
  3. What time is Cathy arriving tomorrow?

Future activities can be expressed even with Past Simple.

  1. The train arrives at 10:30.
  2. The shop opens at 10 o’clock.

Here we are talking about scheduled actions.

Overview

Tense

Phrase

Conditions

Example

Future (Simple)

I will do …

Unplanned

I’ll phone you later.

To be going to

I am going to do …

Planned

I’m going to phone you later.

Present Continuous

I am doing …

Planned and arranged

She is arriving tomorrow at 10:00 pm.

Present Simple

I do …

Scheduled

The shop opens at 10 o’clock.

Thank you for visiting English Tech Blog. Good luck with your English.

English Tek

Leave a Reply

